Celebrating Business Excellence


Wondering what category to enter?

The 2017 programme has a completely new category structure.  Please check out the options below and select ONE of the five main business categories to enter.

Regardless of what your business sector is, you will be judged against businesses of a similar size.

The process will be weighted for small, medium and large businesses – not a ‘one size fits all’ approach. This new judging matrix puts all businesses on a level playing ground ensuring that bigger businesses do more and smaller businesses do not lose points for things that do not apply to them. In short, if you have two people in the business, your ability to provide answers to the questions will be different to that of a very large corporate business.

When you submit your application form, you can also elect to be considered for an Excellence  Award in Leadership, Sustainability, Community Contribution and Innovation.  Judges also reserve the right to nominate your business in one of these specialist categories when they are judging your entry.

Excellence in Business - Emerging

The Excellence in Emerging Business category is for new businesses that have been operating less than two years as at 30 June 2017 – regardless of the size or sector of the business.

Excellence in Business - Small

Small businesses have one to five full-time employees (or equivalent) and include sole traders; any sector.

Excellence in Business - Medium

Medium businesses have six to 15 full-time employees (or equivalent); any sector.

Excellence in Business - Large

Large businesses have more than 16 full-time employees (or equivalent); any sector.

Excellence in Business - Not for Profit

The not-for-profit category is open to all organisations who have legal charitable status or non-profit exemption from IRD – regardless of size or type.   This category will examine the business structure of your not-for-profit business and will take into account the difference challenges that face charitable entities.  It will not be an assessment of who is the ‘best’ charity or who does the ‘best’ work in the community.

Excellence in Innovation

Use & implementation of innovation & knowledge to enhance business excellence & performance.

Excellence in Sustainability

Recognition of, communication of, and support of environmentally sustainable practices.

Excellence in Community Contribution

Proactively involved & ongoing supporter of our wider Taupo community.

Excellence in Leadership

Provision of leadership in the way the organisation is run, the way in which it seizes new opportunities and the way it deals with issues when they arise.

Overall Business of the Year

All entrants will be considered for this supreme award regardless of category entered. Must be able to demonstrate excellence in all business areas, and will be chosen by Chief Judge.

Still not sure where you sit? E-mail us and we can help: